Vacation Intentions

I’m on day two of a 12-day vacation. Usually my primary plan for vacation is to read, read, read. I LOVE READING. I spent some time setting 9 intentions for my vacation, including reading, of course.

1. Don’t check work e-mail.
2. Blog regularly.
3. Limit time spent on social media.
4. Read a lot. Many, many books.
5. Read “Intuitive Eating.” Work on practicing IE.
6. Remain mindful.
7. Invest in relationships.
8. Try new things/experience wonder.
9. Keep spending under control.

Intentions without action aren’t very meaningful, so I these are ways I have acted or will act to live out these intentions.

1. Don’t check work e-mail.
I’ve deleted the bookmarks to work e-mail from my phone. When I feel the impulse to check work e-mail, I’ll check something fun, like Buzzfeed, instead.
2. Blog regularly.
It’s a bit circular, but setting the intention is a start. I’ll work to write to completion rather than saving tons of different drafts. When I’m feeling uninspired, I’ll either finish an existing draft or use a writing prompt and set a time limit. (So far, so good!)
3. Limit time spent on social media.
Put the iPhone out of reach for long periods each day. Don’t worry about keeping up with everything. Set it to Airport Mode and Do Not Disturb for parts of each day.
4. Read a lot. Many, many books.
I have a giant bag of books with me and my Kindle, so I don’t imagine this one will be hard for me.
5. Read “Intuitive Eating.” Work on practicing IE.
This is my therapy homework. I do know the basic principles of IE, but I haven’t read the book, so I’m going to work through it during vacation. I continue to develop a healthy relationship with food, to stop relating guilt/shame to eating.
6. Remain mindful.
Focus on the moment at hand, the task at hand, existing in my body, breathing. Meditate. Turn off background noise. Listen.
7. Invest in relationships.
I went to a bridal shower today for a friend from college, thrown by another friend from college, and fellowshipped with them and other friends. I had dinner with my little bro and my mom yesterday. Mom and I visited friends this afternoon for a while. Most of the time will be spent with my mom and my mama Mary, who is our best good friend, one could say.
8. Try new things/experience wonder.
Eat new foods, go different places, read new-to-me authors. 
I’ll probably go see a band that’s amazing on Monday. They always bring the wonder. And Cirque du Soleil on Tuesday, which always inspires wonder.
9. Keep spending under control.
I moved the rent money over to my savings account already, so that’s safe. I’ll work to be aware of how I’m spending before I spend, to think deliberately about whether it’s something I need, want, what the value is, whether the money could be better spent elsewhere, and whether it will make more room or less room in my life. If I feel like I need a boost of minimalist encouragement, I’ll visit Joshua Becker’s Becoming Minimalist blog (or twitter feed).

Understanding why these things are important to me will help me act on the intentions. Why are these things important to me? What is it that I find valuable, meaningful, enjoyable, etc., about these intentions?

1. Don’t check work e-mail.
It’s important to me to take care of myself, to protect my time away from work by spending it on non-work things and trusting that all is as well as usual at work while I’m vacating and all will be fine once I return.
2. Blog regularly.
I’m more emotionally in touch and less restless when I blog on a regular basis. It feels good to write.
3. Limit time spent on social media.
Particularly during vacation, I want to stay engaged with the present, real-life happening around me more than I’m in touch with whatever’s being shared on social media. I still want to encourage people and keep in touch with what I can, but I don’t want time online to overwhelm time offline.
4. Read a lot. Many, many books.
Did I mention I love reading? Reading transports, transcends, transmutes. It’s so powerful. Some of my happiest memories are of books.
5. Read “Intuitive Eating.” Work on practicing IE.
I value my therapist’s recommendations. I’ve found her to be insightful and helpful. I have seen the benefit of listening and acting on it over the last year and this has been on the to-do list for a while, so it’s time to follow through. I know that what’s in the book will be of benefit to me.
6. Remain mindful.
I enjoy life more when I am mindful. Practicing mindfulness grounds me.
7. Invest in relationships.
People matter to me. Friendships matter to me. Connecting on a meaningful, authentic level matters to me.
8. Try new things/experience wonder.
Adventure and whimsy are awesome and I want more of them.
9. Keep spending under control.
I want to learn from lessons in the past and live as though I have done so, so it’s important to me to make different decisions than I have before and to manage money wisely.

Most importantly, above and through all of these things, my goal is to love myself, to appreciate my body, to treat myself with kindness, and to empower others to do the same

What are your intentions for your vacation? What are your intentions for the coming week? I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

A picture of a smiling, dark-haired woman, wearing a blue dress, accented by a multicolored necklace, looking to the right; another person's hands are in frame, one pointing left of frame and the other on the woman in blue's shoulder.

“Action” shot from bridal shower

 

 

I appreciate your comments. Thank you!

