Setting Intentions

The weekend is over, it’s another Monday morning. It’s not even the first day of my workweek, but I still often feel broadsided by Mondays. It doesn’t happen at the start of the day, but by mid-morning, I’m usually suffering from that infamous case of the Mondays.

What a lame way to start a week, though, right? It isn’t serving me to let the week start off with Monday malcontent. Why keep on letting it happen? There’s no good reason.

How do I effect change to get out of this habit of being victimized by Monday? It starts with setting intentions. My intentions are to remain engaged, to remember that I’m choosing a better story. My intentions are to keep my emotions in perspective and to plan good moments. My intentions are to remember that I’m part of a much bigger story.

“A life of reaction is a life of slavery, intellectually and spiritually. One must fight for a life of action, not reaction.”
Rita Mae Brown

My father used to say (probably still does), “You can want in one hand and shit in the other and see which hand fills up first.” Intention alone won’t dispel a case of the Mondays. Intention without action is just a wish.

Action is required. What concrete actions can I take to see out my intentions? Start my day with prayer. Choose gratitude instead of complaint. See and appreciate beauty. Step away from the computer screen during breaks. Get outside, exercise, listen to music, read a few pages. Keep my cell phone off of my desk. Work to remain focused on whatever task I’ve got in front of me. Have dinner with a friend in the evening. Plan and look forward to other good things in store in the week.

No more groggy-eyed, sleepy-headed, going-through-the-motions, letting Monday get the better of me. I’m choosing to “fight for a [Monday] of action.” How about you?

Intention

One thought on “Setting Intentions

I appreciate your comments. Thank you!

